1-hit-wonder for social proof

If a friend forwarded this - grab your Free subscription. Inbox Hacking delivers marketing insights, tools, & news - without the yawns. *Following message contains a sponsor offer we’d like you to check out (thanks).

💡1-hit-wonder for social proof

National Hawaiian Shirt Day snuck up on us again this year. Time flies. 

Today, we wrap up the week with a different take on social proof called the Sinatra Test. Then we’ll end today’s edition with a summary of the week’s news-n-stuff.

Social Proof - Even When You Have Little to None

Wish I could link to the article where I first saw the term “The Sinatra Test.” Can’t find it, though.

Regardless. Here’s the gist.

The Sinatra Test gives you a unique way to show off social proof that your brand, product, or service is trustworthy. Worth a look. Worth spending money on.

This technique is especially useful for new brands without many reviews or big name clients or 23 case studies.

The idea comes from a Sinatra song that says, “If you can make it in New York City, you can make it anywhere.” An old song that depicts the competitiveness of NYC. Nowadays, if you can survive a day in NYC without getting sucker-punched that’s a bigger achievement. But I digress…

Use this concept to show off the ONE big thing you’ve accomplished. If you achieved X, then you have proven yourself capable of ABC and XYZ and more!

I’ve Seen the Sinatra Test Work

Though I didn’t yet know there was a Sinatra Test, I can now name two examples (possibly three) of it working on me.

Never heard of her until I accidentally caught her on one of my favorite podcasts at the time. Think it was Side Hustle Nation. I was impressed, investigated a bit more, and even wrote an article for one of her sites back in the day. That was over ten years ago. Any time I mention virtual assistants now - I tell people about Gina’s training. All because I figured if she was worthy of being interviewed on a big podcast, she was the real deal. (She’s now trained over 10,000 VAs, so as usual, I was right😅).

#2 David Goggins

I have yet to read Goggins’ book. But if he can make it as a Navy SEAL, he can make it anywhere. The ONLY proof I needed that he is tough as nails and has something to teach me about nail-toughness is his SEAL statue. 

#3 Chadd Wright

This one, you’ll have to trust me. It’s theoretical. Yeah, I knew Chadd was also a former SEAL. However, if I had only seen him win this one race round and round a mountain for like 138 hours straight, that would’ve been enough social proof that he could teach me something about planning, fitness, faith, and mental toughness.

Now you have ideas for passing the Sinatra Test and generating powerful social proof without even having your first customer. 

And if you’re the face of a brand that already has plenty of social proof, doing something crazy-hard or getting on an insanely popular podcast is icing on that cake.

Coming up in the Wrap-Up - a hot Shorts trend…

Sponsored
Market MeditationMarkets | Investment | Philosophy

This Week’s Marketing Wrap-Up

Inbox Hacking is read by good marketing folks at Gartner, ESPN, Allstate, and You. Please share our newsletter with a friend. 

Shane McLendon, Copy Kingpin - Inbox Hacking